Handmade Gifts

cozies

With Valentine’s Day coming up I wanted to make something beautiful yet useful for my boys teachers that wasn’t screaming Valentine’s with Red and Pink. They work so hard and really do go above and beyond for my kids. I did make a small purchase for them but wanted to make something handmade for all the work they do.

I set out looking for something that I could work up quickly but would still be beautiful and functional at the same time. I loved the idea of a coffee sleeve since the cardboard ones you get at the coffee shop never really work well and it’s nice to have a personalized sleeve.

I found a ton of patterns but this one stuck out to me since I was in a time crunch and wanted to use what I had on hand. I modified the pattern just a bit and I’m really happy with how it came out.

For the coffee sleeve itself you can follow the link to the free pattern:

http://tatertotsandjello.com/2013/11/happy-holidays-handmade-gift-idea-crochet-heart-coffee-cozy.html

I made just a few changes which I will list below.

I started by making a chain of 30 instead of the 25

I also did 4 rows of dc (the pattern has a small error I think because the pic has 4 rows but the written portion is different)

Basically, I did the sc round, 4 dc rounds and 1 sc round to finish

After I got that finished my husband thought it would look nice to finish it with a contrast color. I can’t argue when The Hubs throws in some creative ideas since that doesn’t happen all that often.

So I took the color I planned on using for the hearts and made an edging for the top and bottom. I did a regular sc around the bottom part of the sleeve but for the top I wanted it to be a bit different.

For the top I did (sc, ch 1) all the way around to give it that little bit of flare around the top.

To finish it all off I used the heart pattern from the same site which I’ll post a link to as well.

http://www.skiptomylou.org/2013/10/10/crochet-heart-applique/

I can’t wait until tomorrow so we can hand over our handmade gifts to the teachers! Do you have a favorite handmade gift that you like to make for others? If so I would love to hear it!

Happy Hookin’ all

2 thoughts on “Handmade Gifts

Leave a Reply

