Dish Scrubbies with Accent Color Large & Small

Large & Small Scrubby
Large & Small Scrubby

 (The large scrubby has a tulle accent and the small has a cotton accent)

I love to make “functional crochet” items! And when asked to make a tulle dish scrubber I was excited to try it out. I was actually surprised at how many patterns I found online, I hadn’t realized these were so popular. Once I made a few and used them I instantly knew why, they rock! Even my husband commented on how well they work. I also love that I can toss them in the dishwasher for an extra cleaning and how easy it is to bring in some bright colors into the kitchen.

After using patterns online for a while I thought I would try to make up my own and this is what I came up with. I have made both sizes and love them both! I haven’t had the pattern “tested” yet so I’m hoping that there aren’t too many mistakes. So if you decide to make one I would love to hear your feed back or just see some pictures of your finished items! I think it’s a nice pattern that is easily customized to any color scheme you may want.

I hope you enjoy this pattern. 🙂

Dish Scrubbie’s with Accent color

 

Materials:

  • Size I hook
  • Tulle (I purchased large rolls and cut them in half so each strip is about 3in wide)
  • Yarn needle
  • Cotton yarn (if using, you could use any worsted weight cotton yarn)
  • The accent is a great way to use up the small scraps of leftover yarn

Stitches/Abbreviations Used:

  • ch = Chain
  • sl st = Slip Stitch
  • hdc = half double crochet
  • sc = single crochet
  • BLO = Back Loop Only
  • sc2tog = single crochet 2 together
  • sk st = skip stitch

 

Special Instructions:

  • In any pattern of mine the ch 2 at the beginning of a round will not count as a stitch.
  • I always slip stitch to first stitch of previous round, never in the chain
  • The first stitch of each round is worked in the same stitch as your ch 2
  • To add the accent color, slip stitch in between the hdc stitches until you get to the last stitch, at this point cut the tulle and use your yarn needle to do an invisible join. Repeat for each row of hdc you’d like to accent.
  • You can use a different color tulle or even a different color of cotton yarn, I’ve used both and it all comes down to preference.
  • Please feel free to sell any items you make using this pattern, whether you sell online or at a fair.
  • Please don’t copy & paste this pattern to other sites/blogs, instead please link back to my blog. Thank you!

Pattern Instructions:

Large Scrubby

Using your size I hook, ch 3

Row 1: 8 hdc in the 1st ch (3rd ch from hook) join to 1st hdc (8)

Row 2: ch 2, 2 hdc in each st around, join to 1st hdc (16)

Row 3: ch 2, 1 hdc in same st, 2 hdc in next st, *1 hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next* repeat from *-* around, join to 1st hdc                          (24)

Row 4: ch 2, hdc in same st, 1 hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next st, *1 hdc in next 2 sts, 2 hdc in next st*, repeat from *-* around                 (32)

          BEFORE JOINING

Using your hook pull up your loop to secure it so it won’t slip out while you do your accent color.

 

ACCENT COLOR

To add the accent color, slip stitch in between the hdc stitches until you get to the last stitch, at this point cut the tulle and use your yarn needle to do an invisible join. Repeat for each row of hdc you’d like to accent. You can either weave in the ends as you go (that’s what I do, I hate all the finishing at the end) or you can use a yarn needle to weave them in at this point.

Once you’ve finished that, you can pick up your loop you left before and continue as follows.

 

Row 5: Working in BLO to create the sides, work 1 hdc into the BLO of each stitch around  (32)

YOU WILL NO LONGER JOIN FROM HERE ON

Row 6: Continue working in BLO, make a sc in BLO of 1st hdc from previous round, then *1 sc in the next 3 sts, sc2tog in next st* repeat from *-* around  (28)

Row 7: In BLO, work *1 sc in the next 2 sts, sc2tog in the next st* repeat from *-* around   (18)

Row 8: In BLO, work *sc2tog around.

Row 9: In BLO work, *sc2tog, sk st* repeat from *-* around

Row 10: In BLO work, *1 sc, sk st* repeat from *-* around until you can close off and weave in the end.

 

 

 

SMALL SCRUBBY:

Using your size I hook, ch 3

Row 1: 8 hdc in the 1st ch (3rd ch from hook) join to 1st hdc (8)

Row 2: ch 2, 2 hdc in each st around, join to 1st hdc (16)

Row 3: ch 2, 1 hdc in same st, 2 hdc in next st, *1 hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next* repeat from *-* around, join to 1st hdc (24)

BEFORE JOINING

Using your hook pull up your loop to secure it so it won’t slip out while you do your accent color.

 

ACCENT COLOR

To add the accent color, slip stitch in between the hdc stitches until you get to the last stitch, at this point cut the tulle and use your yarn needle to do an invisible join. Repeat for each row of hdc you’d like to accent. You can either weave in the ends as you go (that’s what I do, I hate all the finishing at the end) or you can use a yarn needle to weave them in at this point.

Once you’ve finished that, you can pick up your loop you left before and continue as follows.

 

Row 4: Working in BLO to create the sides, work 1 hdc into the BLO of each stitch around (24)

YOU WILL NO LONGER JOIN FROM HERE ON

Row 5: Continue working in BLO, make a sc in BLO of 1st hdc from previous round, then *1 sc in the next 3 sts, sc2tog in next st* repeat from *-* around (20)

Row 6: In BLO, work *1 sc in the next 2 sts, sc2tog in the next st* repeat from *-* around   (15)

Row 7: In BLO, work *sc, sk st* repeat from *-* until you can close off

Tie off and weave in the end

 

Leave a Reply

